Eight Mandatory Medical Record Categories:

 The eight (8) types of clinical notes that must be shared are outlined in the United States Core Data for Interoperability (USCDI) include:

  • Consultation Notes
  • Discharge Summary Notes
  • History & Physical
  • Imaging Narratives
  • Laboratory Report Narratives
  • Pathology Report Narratives
  • Procedure Notes
  • Progress Notes


Information Blocking Exceptions:

 Information Blocking Exceptions include:

  • Preventing Harm
  • Privacy
  • Security
  • Infeasibility
  • Health IT Performance
  • Content and Manner
  • Fees
  • Licensing

Read more about the Information Blocking Exceptions, including its objectives and key conditions necessary for the exceptions.